My name is Laura and I am a binge eater.

Since January 1st, I have been trying really hard to lose weight. Right up until this Thursday, it’s been going great. I’ve been focussed, I’ve exercised, and I lost 16lbs in 5 weeks.

Today’s weigh in says that I’ve gained 5lb in three days. Wow.

No excuses. I have gained weight because for the last three days, I have not stopped shovelling junk food into my face.

Disaster #1- This week, we have been in teething hell with the cub. No sleep, lots of crying. Stress, exhaustion, and tears all round.

Disaster #2 -My parents have been visiting. I have felt the need to entertain them, which has meant that I’ve been completely out of my routine, and has somehow meant me cooking lots of high calorie foods.  They also brought a box of chocolates. I ate the lot in less than 24 hours.

Disaster #3- Valentines day. I got bought more chocolate. That has also all gone.

I feel really really sick. I have no self control.  Apparently, I have no other coping mechanism. I have huge compulsive eating problem that I have struggled with for a long time, and I need to fix it.

This week I will be better.

5 thoughts on “My name is Laura and I am a binge eater.

  1. I’m so sorry you feel so sad about this. I have suffered- and have people close to me suffer/ suffering- with eating disorders and I know how lonely it can be. Have you spoken to anyone about how you feel? I’m sorry I can’t be of much help but just wanted to let you know I do understand how you feel
    XxX

  2. Thank you- I’m lucky that I don’t deal with this alone, I just have moments of madness when I am not in control at all- then I feel so disappointed with myself afterwards. I will get this under control again (I have before) but it’s not easy! Thank you for your support xxxxx

  3. Aw you havent failed yet! It was one box of choccies. The first step is be kind to yourself and stop beating yourself over the head with the food you need. Allow the fact that lack of sleep will leave you feeling hungry and eat till your full.
    Most importantly go and get a hug. :)) One step at a time.
    From someone who’s been there and worn the t-shirt and has burnt the t-shirt, for good. xx

Leave a Reply

