Breaking through a weight loss plateau: Two week challenge!

Today is my weigh in day, and I’ve just logged my weight on Weightwatchers online.  I’ve been the same weight for three weeks running.  This is really, really annoying. I need to break through this weight loss plateau, and I want to do it in the next 14 days.  I have a little family break coming up and if I don’t manage to do it before then, it will be another month before I see any progress. It just can’t be another month! I’m too impatient!

I have only got 10lb to lose to get to my pre-baby weight, having lost almost 2 stone since 1st January, and I am definitely feeling much smaller. My clothes have started feeling much looser over the last month, and I can now fit into almost all of my old wardrobe! That’s a huge cause for celebration, and the non-scale victories are definitely boosting my motivation.

The only problem is that the needle on that damn scale just isn’t moving for me right now.

Getting to my pre-baby weight is a huge deal for me, because it means that I can move forward.  Losing weight that I gained in my pregnancy is like treading old ground, not making new progress.  At my pre-baby weight, I felt great, and I was the lightest I have ever been as an adult.  I still had work to do though- I was a size 14/16 and carrying an extra 30lb or so. Much better than the extra 130lb I was carrying to begin with, of course! (See my before and after photos here.)

I never quite reached that final goal, and that’s what I would love to do now. To get started, I need to get to where I was back in May 09.  I feel like I’m still crawling to the start line!

So here’s the plan. I need to fit in as much exercise as possible over the next 14 days. I think I would be happy with 8 sessions.  I will not exceed my Weightwatchers points for the next 14 days. I won’t use any treat points or exercise points. I’m going to be a focussed, determined, machine! And in two weeks, I will be writing that I have broken through this plateau!   I hope….

11 thoughts on “Breaking through a weight loss plateau: Two week challenge!

  1. Plateaus are awful aren’t they? I’ve stayed the same for a month now after losing 2 stone since mid Nov. Yesterday i decided enough was enough & so I’m going to up the exercise as I would like to lose another stone.
    Good luck & keep going you’ve done an amazing job so far!!

    • Ah thanks, good luck to you too! It’s so frustrating, I’m doing tons of exercise so I’m concentrating on being really strict with food for a couple of weeks. Well done on your loss, that’s fantastic!!

  2. I am at the same point. I am not going by weight but my belly measurement. I have lost six inches off of my waist and would love to lose two more. However, I have been stuck at 42 inches for a few months now. I exercise and watch my portions. I am wondering if I need to add more fruits and veggies to my diet than I already have. Good luck on breaking through your plateau.

  3. Pingback: Hurrah, I broke my plateau! Then ate some pies. | cakeandteablog

  4. Pingback: Your Questions About Master Cleanse For Weight Loss | Fast To Lose Weight

  5. Pingback: Combo ACAI Fat Burn #3 and Hoodia Ultra 2000 Diet Pill with Green Tea, Grapefruit, Apple Cider, and more for Weight Loss and 2000mg of Hoodia Reviews | health and nutrition advice, nutrition and health, health and nutrition

  6. I believe what you said made a great deal of sense.
    But, what about this? what if you added a little information?
    I ain’t suggesting your information isn’t solid, but what if you added something that grabbed a person’s attention? I mean Breaking through a weight loss plateau: Two week challenge! | cakeandteablog is kinda plain. You ought to look at Yahoo’s home page and
    see how they create post headlines to grab people to open
    the links. You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to
    grab readers interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it could bring your blog a little livelier.

  7. Pingback: Lose Baby Weight – Lose Weight After Pregnancy – Lose Baby Belly | lose weight programs

  8. Pingback: Green Tea Weight Loss Drink | Green Tea Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

